These are a few of my favorite things….

Of the many things I love about life , it is the wonderful pieces of Art that we are lucky enough to see and appreciate…

I was introduced to Art and developed a love and interest for it thanks to my father and someday hope to be an Art collector of sorts.

This piece by Van Gogh is one of my favorites and is according to me one of the most remarkable piece of our times ( the past and present ) .

Although Van Gogh sold only one painting in his life the aftermath of his work ( as in case of most artists )is enormous.

This masterpiece is on of the most well known images in modern culture .

There are several aspects that intrigue me about this Art piece –

To me this this image is of a starlit night sky and swirling clouds and a bright crescent moon.

The features are exaggerated to an extent yet this is an image I can relate to…my eyes tend to follow the curves and swirls created by the stars and takes a hold on me everytime i look at it.

The town below is peaceful and the colors used fill my mind with memories of books from my childhood..and bring a sense of warmth and comfort. The center point of the town is the tall steeple of the church, bringing to the picture a sense of stability.

The curving lines mirror that of the sky and create the sensation of depth in the painting. The strokes of the brush and this technique gives me the chance to interpret it on my own.

Surprisingly Van Gogh painted Starry Night while in an Asylum at Saint-Remy in 1889.

I do hope to someday visit the original piece and see this masterpiece in person !

Share your views !

