To believe or not ….

I oft wonder if there really is an almighty, a God….Born into a secular yet spiritual family I have been brought up on the values of Karma , the law of reaping the benefits of the good Karma we do…but who is it who keeps score ?

Many of my friends have debated the existence of God. Now I have decided not to think any further…I believe it’s smarter to Believe in him, because to believe that he does not exist is not a risk free idea.

What if he does exist n my non belief angers him? …the payoff is too damn high being an atheist and there is no upside at all…that is sad.

I came across this tale once…an interesting read….

Once in a tiny village a young man went to a barbershop to have his hair cut. As the barber began to work, they began to chat (don’t we all!) and amongst the various things they discussed they touched on the subject of God’s existence…the barber said, “I don’t believe that God exists.”

“Why do you say that,” asked the young man….

“Well, you just have to go out in the street to realize that God doesn’t exist. Tell me, if God exists, would there be so many sick people? Would there be abandoned children? If God existed there would be neither suffering nor pain. I can’t imagine a loving God who would allow all these things.”

The man thought for a moment yet chose to keep mum. The barber finished his job and the young man left the shop. Just as he left the barber shop he saw a man in the street with long, string, dirty hair and an untrimmed beard. He looked dirty and unkempt. The youth turned back and entered the barbershop again and he said to the barber, “You know what? Barbers do not exist.”

“How can you say that,” asked the surprised barber. “I am here, I am a barber and I just worked on you!”

“No!” the dude exclaimed. “Barbers don’t exist because if they did there would be no people with long dirty hair and untrimmed beards like that man outside.”

“Ah, but barbers do exist! What happens is people don’t come to me.”

“Exactly,” affirmed the youth. “That’s the point! God, too, does exist! What happens is people do not go to Him or look for Him. That’s why there’s so much pain and suffering in the world.”

Whoa…heavy isn’t it…but it’s simple even if you don’t completely believe sometimes when we are low and over and out ( as I like to call it ) it’s easier to submit ourselves to destiny , however we must remember that it is only in asking will we be given…it’s the rule that applies everywhere…God has created us ( if he exists) and has too much on his hands….so if we don’t bother asking he will never be able to know if we need something ….

Yet if we ask and it is not given…then it is his way of teaching us a lesson, one more experience….teaching us patience, so that when we get what we want  (if what we want is the right thing for us ) or he gives us the fruit we have earned or deserve…then we will appreciate it….hence I believe….I believe in Karma and in God but most importantly I believe that everything happens for a reason and that keeps me going always !

Life

Share your views !

