How to survive the Gazillion Wedding Season !

Don’t get me wrong, I love weddings! I love how everybody looks happy, shiny and beautiful. I love how people from all over the world come to partake in the festivities and everybody is merry and drunk and HAPPY. Everybody dances and sings and laughs and usually I’m in charge of entertainment/dance choreography at all close weddings so it’s the run up to the weddings that is most fun – what with dance practices and gossiping etc

Now that my love for weddings and the fact that I am a very social person has been established, let me start out on how I this year’s wedding season seem to be an unending one!  Wondering what I am talking about? I have attended 8 weddings since 15th November 2011 till date. 3 of them have been destination weddings and have all been those of my closest friends and family. I love my friends and I love weddings and dressing up , but think about this – each wedding has 3-4 functions. SO I have spent 4X8 = 32 days since November dressing up and socializing and dancing to the same music and meeting almost the same people over and over. ( all weekends are consumed by these functions and so are my leaves at work).This does not include the time spent shopping for these weddings – clothes, shoes, bags, jewelry or time spent at the salon – getting my hair done or even time traveling to and fro! As if this wasn’t Herculean enough, I have also switched jobs 3 months back and have been training for the #scmm #Mumbai Marathon that I ran last Sunday.   

 Sigh!

On a lighter note….’coz now I sound like a stuck up snob whining about a social life , what inspired this post was this really funny picture I came across the web recently !

 As I look at my social calendar for the next month I have another 4 weddings to go for this season (till Feb end) and I’m very excited about them but I do hope to get a breather in between. I hope to travel (a trip which doesn’t have a wedding as the agenda but pure relaxation). I want to sleep and rest and run and not be worried about salon appointments and dress fittings and the obnoxious high heels that I hate beyond a point at a party.

Having said all of this here’s a shout out to all the lovely couples who have tied the knot this season or will be tying it soon – I love you guys! You all looked / will look awesome and I honestly can’t wait to rock it at your weddings – even in my 6 inch killer heels! Here’s wishing you guys the very best ahead! XXX

 p.s. I will soon post some fun pictures from the very awesome and fun Big Fat Indian Weddings I have been fortunate to be part of …..

 

Share your views !

