Update on my resolutions…

Like with every year, 2012 for me began with a set of resolutions that I hope to finish by the end of 2012. I finally think this will be a year where I will do whatever I put on my list! 

I FINALLY bought my first DSLR ! 🙂 It’s been on my list for a while now ( i’ve been a Cannon Ixus loyalist for years) and I was inspired and guided by ace photographer Fram Petit to finally settle on the Sony Nex 3.

Why did I buy the Sony Nex 3? 

  • Fram really recommended it! 
  • It’s handy and compact – I can actually see myself carry this camera around (unlike my friend’s Nikon D7000- which I love using but is heavy and big ! )
  • The camera offers HD video recording as well – great for quality shooting on holidays
  • The target audience for these Cameras’s was people like me – want to upgrade from point and shoot to DSLRs but making it simple enough (with fewer buttons).
  • The camera has a full user guide in built – making it really user friendly by giving ‘hints’ and ‘advice’ about everything from how to hold the camera body to getting an out of focus background shot ! 🙂 
  •  Lens Compatibility: – The cameras have E mount compatibility and the lens options available are:

                   16mm F2.8 pancake

                    a standard 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 stabilized kit zoom

                    Stabilized 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 super zoom

This is something really cool! An Alpha mount adapter is also available, giving the ability to use Sony and Minolta SLR lenses

Sony NEX-3  Price

For the photographers like me who want to spend time learning and want to upgrade to a DSLR without burning a hole in their pockets I recommend the Sony NEX series. Though Sony NEX 3 is being phased out the Sony NEX 5 and NEX 7 are great cameras to look at. Another set to watch out for are the recently launched Nikon J1 and V1 cameras that are about 250-300$ (10000) bucks more expensive than NEX 3 & 5 but are part of the Nikon family tree….

 I’m thrilled that I finally bought my camera ( one thing to strike off this year’s resolution list) and am even more excited about a trip I have planned to Mumbai’s Chor Bazaar with my friend so I may try out my camera J Needless to say , stay tuned for pictures !

 

Share your views !

