Ditch the workout, join the party !

Last evening I had a really fun workout. I signed up for a Zumba class (1.5 hour master class) at a suburban activity centre in Mumbai. The class was conducted by Kelly Bullard and Sucheta Pal. To those who don’t know what Zumbia is, Zumba is a Colombian dance fitness program created by dancer and choreographer Alberto “Beto” Perez during the 1990s. The choreography involves dance and aerobic elements incorporating hip-hop, soca, samba, salsa, merengue, mambo, martial arts, and some Bollywood and belly dance.

The Zumba fever which has affected about 12 million people in over 110,000 locations across more than 125 countries.[5] (source wikipedia)   is now spreading like wild fire in India ( Mumbai). I have friends from across the globe who have been raving about the Zumba way of staying fit, so I was really looking forward to the class.

At first I wasn’t sure what to expect. To be honest I have previously had basic training in Latin American and Ballroom dancing so I thought that it can’t be too different from what I already know. Wrong! Hahaha, I had signed up for a Master class – where most people in the class had been Zumba-ing for a while and some were even instructors. So they already knew what to do and were experts!

I actually have “2 right feet” (if I could say that 😉 that’s how I would describe it) and dancing is my passion so even though the first 30 minutes were a slight struggle picking steps up , once I did I had a blast ! We danced on about 10-15 songs all of them involving choreography inspired by hip -hop, Salsa and Merengue moves. We even danced on “Chammak Challo” and a Punjabi Bhangra version. (Go Punjabiiii! )

Usually men (atleast in Mumbai) don’t sign up for aerobics classes but this is a great option for those who want to “Ditch the work out and join the party”. The guys seemed to enjoy the class as much as us girls did. I had my heart rate monitor on and as per that the class was a 1100 calorie burn class at 75-85% heart rate which is awesome because I actually had a blast while working out. Totally recommend you try this out !

While this was just the start of my Zumba days, I am sure I am going to sign up for many more workshops and try to incorporate this form of calorie burn into my workout atleast once a week.

Do any of you Zumba ? If you know of any good studios/ classes for Zumba in Mumbai (Bandra) please let me know!

Share your views !

