Udaipur Diaries : Laal Mass & more !

Ok so I have no qualms admitting that food is always a really important part of my holiday. No matter where I travel to I always try to eat the local cuisine and check out the must goto spots & recommended restaurants.

While Daal baati is the most famous dish from Mewar , in my opinion it’s too heavy and after having tried it at my friend’s wedding in Indore I decided to skip it this time. On my hit list for my Udaipur trip was Lal Maas in non vegetarian & Ker sangri ki bhaji in vegetarian food. Also on my list were the following restaurants :

1. Upre  

2. Jag Mandir

3. The Bar at Udai Villas

4. Paantya at the Shiv Niwas Palace

5.Ambhrai, Amet Haveli, O/S Chandpole, Udaipur (+91 294 243 1085)

6.Café Edelweiss – European Café Street 73 Gangaur Ghat Rd 

7.Sheesh Mahal, The Leela Palace Kempinski Udaipur (+91 294 670 1234; www.theleela.com)

8. Palki Khana, Shiv Niwas Palace, City Palace Complex, Udaipur (+91 294 252 8016; www.hrhhotels.com

Bhairo, Taj Lake Palace, Lake Pichola, Udaipur (+91 294 242 8800;www.tajhotels.com)

I recommend making reservations before your trip as during peak season everything gets booked out ! We missed out at Udai Villas dining because it was all sold out until January 4th 2014 !!

The restaurants at Taj Lake Palace and the Sheesh Mahal are only open to resident guests so we missed out on them. We also visited Devi Garh by Lebua and I have already reviewed it. I can’t wait to review the others and share my pearls of wisdom and pictures both Va and I took during our stay. 

The Laal Maas was the best at Shiv Niwas , we tried it at Trident & Lebua as well and thought that Lebua’s version of the Laal Maas was average and too mellow and adapted to suit the western palate ( low on spice , sweeter than others and the meat was a little chewy ! ) . The Trident version we had with rice and the one at Shiv Niwas scored a 10 on our spice – o – meter and had us gulping water with every bite , yet that didn’t stop us from finishing it ( so you can imagine how good it was ! )

Our meal at Shiv Niwas was about 2000 Rs for Laal Maas + Rotis + Curd + Ker Sangri Bhaji ,  Trident was Rs 1000 for one & the Thali we enjoyed at Lebua was priced at Rs 2500 ( non veg ) & Rs 2000 ( veg) .

While we enjoyed our meals at every restaurant as each one had something unique to order I highly recommend you visit Shiv Niwas for a meal & Jag Mandir as well.

I am going to try attempting Laal Maas at home and will be happy to share the recipe I got from a friend with all who are interested !

 

Share your views !

